WELCOME!
These subject pages present a selection of relevant resources for students, teachers, and researchers in Philosophy. In the links above you will find information about research methods, literature searches, source referencing, academic writing, databases with new historical research, links to national and international networks, and other archives or source collections. In the general resources you will find links to the Source Compass, the Writing Shed, EndNote, and much more.
We are constantly developing our collections in consultation with faculty, and we try to be strong in the areas of philosophy of technology, metaphysics, ethics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of psychology, and environmental philosophy .On these pages you will find databases with new philosophical research, links to national and international scholarly communities, and other collections of sources and resources. You will also find information about research methods, literature searches, referencing, academic writing, copyrights, and Open Science.
Our unique Ro collection contains books on recent US history, particularly post-war protest movements, neo-conservatism, imperialism, and African-American history. Please remember that we also have many non-digitized journals – you find these by searching the journal title in the library catalogue Oria.
Recent arrivals
Philosophy by Women
What is philosophy, why does it matter, and how would it be different if women wrote more of it? At a time when the importance of philosophy, and the humanities in general, is being questioned and at a time when the question of gender equality is a huge public question, 22 women in philosophy lay out in this book how they think of philosophy, what they actually do and how that is applied to actual problems. By bringing together accounts of the personal experiences of women in philosophy, this book provides a new understanding of the ways in which the place of women in philosophy has changed in recent decades while also introducing the reader to the nature and the value of philosophy.
Philosophy in a Technological World
Philosophy has come to seem like a specialist interest with little or no influence on our lives. On the contrary, argues James Tartaglia, it was the philosophy of materialism which taught us to turn from the gods to seek practical assistance from the titans, thereby reversing the moral of an ancient Greek myth to inspire the building of today's technological world. As the largely unreflected belief-system it has now become, materialism continues to steer the direction of technological development, while making us think this direction is inevitable. By drawing on neglected idealist traditions of philosophy, Tartaglia argues for a new way of looking at reality which asserts our freedom to choose, reaffirms and builds upon our ordinary, everyday understanding, and motivates us to convert technological innovation into a process driven by public rationality and consent. With discussions ranging from consciousness, determinism and personal identity, to post-truth culture, ego-death and video games, this clear and accessible book will be of wide interest.
Philosophy As a Way of Life
In this first ever introduction to philosophy as a way of life in the Western tradition, Matthew Sharpe and Michael Ure take us through the history of the idea from Socrates and Plato, via the medievals, Renaissance and Enlightenment thinkers, to Schopenhauer and Nietzsche, Foucault and Hadot. They examine the kinds of practical exercises each thinker recommended to transform their philosophy into manners of living.Philosophy as a Way of Life also examines the recent resurgence of thinking about philosophy as a practical, lived reality and why this ancient tradition still has so much relevance and power in the contemporary world.
Using Questions to Think
Our ability to think, argue and reason is determined by our ability to question. Questions are a vital component of critical thinking, yet we underestimate the role they play. Using Questions to Think puts questioning back in the spotlight. Naming the parts of questions at the same time as we name parts of thought, this one-of-a-kind introduction allows us to see how questions relate to the definitions of propositions, premises, conclusions, and the validity of arguments. Why is this important? Making the role of questions visible in thinking reasoning and dialogue, allows us to: - Ask better questions - Improve our capability to understand an argument - Exercise vigilance in the act of questioning - Make explicit what you already know implicitly - Engage with ideas that contradict our own - See ideas in broader context Breathing new life into our current approach to critical thinking, this practical, much-needed textbook moves us away from the traditional focus on formal argument and fallacy identification, combines the Kantian critique of reason with Hans-Georg Gadamer's hermeneutics and reminds us why thinking can only be understood as an answer to a question.
Philosophy of Science: the Key Thinkers
From the 19th century the philosophy of science has been shaped by a group of influential figures. Who were they? Why do they matter? This introduction brings to life the most influential thinkers in the philosophy of science, uncovering how the field has developed over the last 200 years. Taking up the subject from the time when some philosophers began to think of themselves not just as philosophers but as philosophers of science, a team of leading contemporary philosophers explain, criticize and honour the giants. Now updated and revised throughout, the second edition includes: · Easy-to-follow overviews of pivotal thinkers including John Stuart Mill, Rudolf Carnap, Thomas Kuhn, Karl Popper, and many more · Coverage of central issues such as experience and necessity, logical empiricism, falsifiability, paradigms, the sociology of science, realism, and feminist critiques · An afterword looking ahead to emerging research trends · Study questions and further reading lists at the end of each chapter Philosophy of Science: The Key Thinkers demonstrates how the ideas and arguments of these figures laid the foundations of our understanding of modern science.
Philosophy and Community
'Why should we care about philosophy?' Public philosophy, or 'doing philosophy' in the community, is an important and growing trend - revealed not only by the phenomenon of the Parisian philosophy café, but also the contemporary rise of multiple grassroots projects, for example the Philosophy in Pubs movement. This book is the first to offer academic examination of the theoretical contributions and practical applications of community philosophy. Bringing together voices from diverse contexts and subject areas, from activism and political action to religious environments, arts organisations and museums to maximum security prisons, this collection asks key questions about the point of making philosophy available for everyone: 'How do you "do philosophy" with the public?'; 'Is philosophy in the community the same as academic philosophy?'; 'Why is community philosophy important?' Including contributions from practitioners and researchers from professional philosophy, education, healthcare, and community philosophy, this collection offers perspectives on a growing area of study. It offers a timely and critical introduction to, and analysis of, what philosophy can be when grounded in socially-engaged activities.
