Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While the campus is closed because of COVID-19 it will be possible to book a librarian for short (10 min) online guidance. This is a service ment to compensate for the lack of a guidance bar in the library. The online guidance will take place in Microsoft Teams, read more about Teams here: Info about teams and office 365.
Guidance can be book with the first available librarian or a specific librarian.
Book your time here
I would also like to remind you that it is possible to contact me with suggestions of e-books which may be puchased. Please e-mail me.
Standard Norge has come up with a nice offer: Student subscription.
As a student, at a mere 500 kr per year you can read 50000 standards online, and you get 70% off the list price on standards that you print out yourself. Read more about it here. (In Norwegian only)
To make use of the student subscription you must register with Standard.no.
The library will of course maintain its collection of relevant standards. They can be searched in ORIA and they are available for one-day loan.
We have access to over 600.000 e-books from many suppliers, like Ebrary, Springer, Ebsco, DawsonEra, Wiley, to mention some of the most important.
When you have found the book in ORIA you follow the link at the bottom.
The rules for downloading, printing, etc varies with the supplier. Reading on the screen is always a safe option!
Important databases in engineering and technology
ACM Digital Library Fulltext database of all journals, conference proceedings, etc,. published by Association for Computing Machinery. Contains approx. 400.000 articles, read more here:
IEEE Xplore Fulltext database with more than one million articles from IEE and IEEE journals, conferences and standards. Covers all aspects of ICT, electronics, telecommunication and more.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science Articles from ca 4000 conferences in the ICT area from 1973 on.
Scopus Big database within a broad range of subjects. Covers Engineering Index
EBSCOhost Data base provider, read the description and click the data bases you want to search
Google Scholar Search engine (heavily used also by library employees) Fast searches and the results are relevant, too.
ISI Web of Science Indexes articles from a selection of the most important scientific journals within a wide range of subjects.
ORIA is our libary book catalog + a lot more. ORIA collects data from many databases and other sources.
Organisations and other web resources
Norwegian and Nordic resources
The easy way to information literacy!
Take one hour or two and learn to find your way in the information jungle, find journal articles and books, and judge the quality of the stuff you find.
The Citation Compass
UiAs own Citation Compass,is a good source for information literacy
Information Literacy course from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.
Search and Write
Other Norwegian Universitetes have a slightly different approach
Tired of listening to the usual lecturers?
Free web lectures, etc on technological subjects.