Riktig kildebruk ved UiA

As a student at UiA, you are obliged to familiarize yourself with the rules that apply to how you should refer to sources of various kinds in written work submitted for assessment/scoring. Here you will find information about the use of sources and how to avoid plagiarism. 

As a student working on a written home assignment, you need to gain insight and knowledge from various sources. The syllabus literature will often be a key source, but it may also be relevant to use other academic literature and other types of sources, such as informative brochures and images. You can look for literature and other printed sources in the library and search in electronic databases and on the internet. Ask your subject teacher or librarian for help in finding good sources.

The written homework must be designed in accordance with the requirements for academic integrity that is applied to academic work. This means that your work must be verifiable and that you acknowledge the work of other authors. In order to meet these requirements, your assignment must include a list of sources, i.e. a bibliography or reference list that provides a complete overview of all texts and other types of sources you have used. Throughout the text, you must provide references to the sources that form the basis of the information, theories and arguments you present. If you reuse texts you have written yourself in connection with previous exam papers, you must also refer to these. This is in accordance with (Nowegian only) forskrift om studier og eksamen ved UiA § 31.2 (fourth bullet point). The purpose is to make it clear what you have taken from the sources and what are your own analyses, interpretations and reasoning.

If you have any questions about sources and their use, please contact the library. (hjelp@uia.no). You can also stop by the library's guidance desk or send an email to your subject librarian.
 

See also our guides on (Nowegian only) kildebruk (referanseteknikk). You can also find books on thesis writing/academic writing in the library (808.066). The Citation Compass gives you examples of different types of sources and how these are reproduced in the text and bibliography. Examples from the reference style APA style is based on the Norwegian APA manual, (Nowegian only) gå til manualen and use it together with The Citation Compass

Overview of sources: Bibliography/reference lists

The bibliography should be placed at the end of the assignment. It should contain all the sources you have used in your work on the assignment and which you have referred to in your text. The rules for how such a bibliography/reference list should look depend on which reference style you use. The most commonly used styles at UiA are APA7 and IEEE, but also MLA, Chicago etc. are used in some professional environments. (Nowegian only) For APA stilen se Norsk APA manual, side 22-

Source reference

There are different systems for listing references throughout the text. How it should look depends on which reference style you use. The most commonly used styles at UiA are APA7 and IEEE, but MLA, Chicago, etc. are also used in some academic environments.  For APA style, see more information in the Norwegian APA manual, the first pages about referencing in the text, (Nowegian only) gå til  Norsk APA manual

Reproduction from sources (direct quotation, indirect quotation (paraphrasing))

Sometimes it may be appropriate to reproduce a section of a source. Short excerpts can be reproduced in the form of quotes, while longer texts or excerpts can be reproduced in summaries. For APA style, please refer to the Norwegian APA manual, the first pages on references in the text, (Nowegian only) gå til Norsk APA manual

Artificial intelligence (AI) (AI)

Text written by AI is not a source of information, and it is not recommended that it be used as such in academic assignments. At the same time, there are situations where it may be relevant to use AI. If you use AI to generate text or rewrite your own text, you must include both your questions and the answers you received in an appendix.

Text: Attach the entire text you are quoting from as an appendix. In the text, refer to the appendix when quoting. In the appendix, you should also include your part of the conversation so that it is clear why AI answered the way it did. Clearly show in the text where you have used AI by following the usual norms for citing sources.

Image: Create a caption that includes which program you used and what you asked AI to do.

See also information about Artificial intelligence in assignment writing

The Citation Compass (Nowegian only) Eksempel Kuntig intelliegens (ChatGPT og lignende)