Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media and communcation studies

Welcome to the subject pages for media and communication studies

These subject pages present a selection of resources relevant for those who study, teach or research media, communication, journalism or films. In the links to the left you will find information about research methods, literature searches, source references, academic writing, databases with new research, links to national and international news, and other archives and source collections. In the general resources you will find links to Kildekompasset, Skrivestua, EndNote and much more.

There is also a collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias that might be iunteresting and relevant to you, and that might be usefull in your research.

Remember that we also have many non-digitized journals - you can find these by searching for journal titles in the library catalog Oria, or by looking in the library basement.

We are constantly developing the collection in consultation with the professional community. Our unique 'Ro' collection contains a wealth of material on American fiction, literary critisism, art, history and politics, with an amphasis on protest movements in the post-war era.

Are you looking for relevant information for studies concerning literature, media or communication? Click "Faculty of Humanities and Pedagogy" to the left, and click on your prefered subject.

As you can see, not all pages are available in English. We are working on fixing this for you. We appreciate your patience.

New books for literature, languages and media

Atekst : news archive

Atekst is Norway's most comprehensive text archive containing  national, regional,and local newspapers and periodicals. Search through Norwegian news and articles from printed and digital editorial content as well as NTB from the 1980's until today. Some of the sources are dating back to 1945 and even older.  The Atekst database is updated on a daily basis.  

The Atekst database also offers a tool where you can analyze your search results, create lists, reports or retrieve statistics. As an example you can find out how many time a certain word, name or term is mentioned in the news, and the results can be broken down by year, content type, source, geography etc.   

Note that several papers have a seven-day embargo. However, the title and introduction is searchable from the publication date.

eduVPN

Do you want access to the library's electronic resources outside the university area? Then you need to connect to the UiA network. The library recommends that you use the program (client) eduVPN. Click on the icon for more information.