Welcome to Resources
Your University Library provides access to resources and materials that might not be otherwise available, allowing you to further your learning, understanding, and research. Embrace your library experience and open up a world of knowledge and opportunities to grow both academically and personally.
ORIA is our main search tool for Library Resources.
A - Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research for all subjects. Toggle search filters navigation. Database Subject Filter.
Click here for: A-Z Databases
Images & Video
As a student or employee at UiA you get unrestricted access to images, videos, and illustrations from Colourbox.com.
This includes:
For editorial purposes, you must include the following credit “Illustration photo: Colourbox.com” Colourbox credit attribution.
Limitations
This includes:
- Free use of images for presentations
- Free use of images for educational purposes
- Free use of images for student assignments
- It is possible for you to edit the images
For editorial purposes, you must include the following credit “Illustration photo: Colourbox.com” Colourbox credit attribution.
Limitations
- Images may not be used for commercial purposes
- Account owner can download up to 30 images per month
- At the start of the academic year, the account owner must reactivate their user account. See information on the right.
All the images in Skyfish are approved for use in line with the rules for privacy protection and intellectual property and can freely be used by students and staff.
Click here to log into: Skyfish
Click here to log into: Skyfish
The library has a collection of feature films, documentaries and films with educational content. The University Library has all the films/series that are listed on the syllabus at UiA as well as a number of classics.
Search for films in the library’s collection through Oria.
Search for films in the library’s collection through Oria.
- Enter your search words. To limit the search by resource type, type the word “video” in the search field.
- If you choose the resource type “Audio Visual” you will find films that are available online (mainly related to music).
- The library welcomes purchase suggestions from students and staff.
The library has access to Filmrommet (a Video on Demand-service from Norgesfilm) which contains various films in categories like feature film, documentary, short film, commercial and more. The films are for educators but may also be viewed in separate rooms in the library. Library staff will log you on.
For research and documentation, you can order recordings of radio and TV programmes from the National Library for viewing in separate rooms at the library at UiA. You can order directly from the National Library. Read the terms and find booking instructions (in Norwegian).
Please book by email: kringkasting@nb.no
For teaching, employees can order recordings of NRK programs from the AV center. Order by email post.avsentralen@kristiansand.kommune.no or give tips about new programs, which should be included. UiA is a party to the Norwaco agreement
Please book by email: kringkasting@nb.no
For teaching, employees can order recordings of NRK programs from the AV center. Order by email post.avsentralen@kristiansand.kommune.no or give tips about new programs, which should be included. UiA is a party to the Norwaco agreement
Copyright: Behind every photo, video clip or illustration is an artist who has the copyright to their intellectual property. We have no right to share and present these items without special permission.
Privacy protection: When publishing or sharing photos or videos of people, you must comply with the requirements of the Personal Data Act. Consider getting written permission from the individuals involved.
When using Colourbox and Skyfish, such rights issues have already been taken care of, and students and staff may freely use these services.
Privacy protection: When publishing or sharing photos or videos of people, you must comply with the requirements of the Personal Data Act. Consider getting written permission from the individuals involved.
When using Colourbox and Skyfish, such rights issues have already been taken care of, and students and staff may freely use these services.
Books
Book searches can be done via Oria, which covers the library catalog of all Norwegian universities and colleges. You can search in "My library" (UBA's collections) or "Norwegian subject libraries" (then you will find hits in all libraries). After the search, you can narrow down to material type books, printed and or electronic. Via Oria you will also find articles and other types of material.
The library has the main collection of physical documents arranged according to the Dewey classification system. This means that books on the same subject stand together.
There are also separate sub-collections on the library's premises:
Newspapers, children's books, picture books, textbooks (after the reforms in 1997, 2006 (LG06) and 2020 (LG20), respectively, as well as the elderly), magazines, Ro-collection, magazine, DVD etc. The location of the individual documents is stated in Oria. For an overview in Oria of what is in a sub-collection: Use advanced search / Search filter: Department-collection / Write the name of the collection. Ex: LG20, picture books.
Click here to log into: ORIA
The library has the main collection of physical documents arranged according to the Dewey classification system. This means that books on the same subject stand together.
There are also separate sub-collections on the library's premises:
Newspapers, children's books, picture books, textbooks (after the reforms in 1997, 2006 (LG06) and 2020 (LG20), respectively, as well as the elderly), magazines, Ro-collection, magazine, DVD etc. The location of the individual documents is stated in Oria. For an overview in Oria of what is in a sub-collection: Use advanced search / Search filter: Department-collection / Write the name of the collection. Ex: LG20, picture books.
Click here to log into: ORIA
The National Library has scanned in compulsory books published in Norway. Publications until 2000 has open access in Nettbiblioteket from all Norwegian IP addresses. Publications after 2000 is online accessable by searching for access.
NB! FROM MARCH 22, IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO SEARCH FOR ONLINE ACCESS TO NORWEGIAN CURRICULUM BOOKS (regardless if or where one is studying)
For access to the library's premises on campus:
1. Go to this page nb.no/tilgang and follow these instructions carefully:
For access from home:
Go to nb.no/tilgang and follow the same instructions as above. But instead of applying at the University Library in Agder, you send your application to the "National Library Section of the Public Service, Lending".
You will then receive a confirmation by email within 30 min. If you do not receive the email, contact NB: veiledningen@nb.no
Scientific employees in the higher education sector do not need to apply for access, but can log in with Feide. Click here to log into: The National Library's Online Library
NB! FROM MARCH 22, IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO SEARCH FOR ONLINE ACCESS TO NORWEGIAN CURRICULUM BOOKS (regardless if or where one is studying)
For access to the library's premises on campus:
1. Go to this page nb.no/tilgang and follow these instructions carefully:
- Select "Access to compulsory material in the library".
- Select "Log in with MinID or Feide here". Log in with your UiA Feide.
- Then you will see a search form (Write Agder and select the University Library in Agder). Submit.
For access from home:
Go to nb.no/tilgang and follow the same instructions as above. But instead of applying at the University Library in Agder, you send your application to the "National Library Section of the Public Service, Lending".
You will then receive a confirmation by email within 30 min. If you do not receive the email, contact NB: veiledningen@nb.no
Scientific employees in the higher education sector do not need to apply for access, but can log in with Feide. Click here to log into: The National Library's Online Library
The University Library's suppliers of e-books and practical advice regarding use. Search for e-books in Oria. Enter your keywords and narrow down to the desired material type after the search.
Click here to log into: E-Books
Click here to log into: E-Books
Biblioteksøk
Common catalog for subject and public libraries
bibliotek.dk
Search in Danish library collections
Gutenberg.org
"Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which US copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education. "
Libris
Titles in Swedish university, college and research libraries
KVK
KVK
WorldCat
Search international library catalogs and bookstores
Common catalog for subject and public libraries
bibliotek.dk
Search in Danish library collections
Gutenberg.org
"Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which US copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education. "
Libris
Titles in Swedish university, college and research libraries
KVK
KVK
WorldCat
Search international library catalogs and bookstores
The library appreciates purchase proposals from students and staff.
Please use Oria to place your order
Please use Oria to place your order
- Search for documents
- Use the request button
- Log in with university username
- Use the comment field: book suggestion and whether you wish to reserve the document
- Send
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Find the best library Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for your research.
Click here for: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Journals and newspapers
-
ORIA
- Atekst (Norwegian newspaper, some Swedish)
- InfoMedia (Denmark)
- LibraryPress.Display (International newspapers, limited archive)
- ProQuest News and Newspapers (The Guardian 1821-2003, The Observer 1791-2003, and The New York Times 1851-2007)
Complete overview of libraries print and e-journals. You will find information about inventory and access Enter your search term (f.ex. titel or ISSN) or choose the type of material.
Browzine
Find which e-journals the library offers in your subject area and read the latest issue on your tablet or mobile.
Artikler
Library offers access to the full text article. Many of them are found via ORIA
NB
Norwegian newspapers and journals. Overview made by National Library
Journals archive
Full text access
ACM
IT. Access to journal articles, conference proceedings and standards from ACM.
Ebsco EJS
Access to approximately 300 titles
Emerald
175 important journals about leadership, administration and marketing
Idunn
Access to articles from 60 Norwegian journals from Gyldendal Akademisk, Aschehoug and Universitetsforlagets from 2004.
IEEE Xplore
Access to articles, conference proceedings and standards from IEEE and IEE. Technology and IT.
JSTOR
Archive with e-journals which provides access to ca. 1000 titles. In most cases access from the first issue but not the last
Lippincott
Health and nursing. Access via Helsebibliotek
Project MUSE
Journals from humanities, sociology and social science published in the USA
Psycarticles
E-journals form American Psychologist Association
Sage Premier
Social science, medicine and humanities
ScienceDirect
Access to articles from 1995. Approximately 2000 titles from Elsevier.
Springer Link
Natural sciences, technology from 1997. Access to approximately 1300 titles.
Taylor & Francis
Access to 1350 interdisciplinary e-journals. Access from 1997.
Wiley-Blackwell
Access to 1350 interdisciplinary e-journals. Access from 1997
Review of journals
(journalmetrics)
Register of Publication channels (NSD)
" The Norwegian Register for Scientific Journals, Series and Publishers is operated jointly between The National Board of Scholarly Publishing (NPU) and NSD - Norwegian Centre for Research Data on behalf of the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. NSD has operational responsibility. NPU has approval authority of journals, series and publishers. The register shows which scientific publications are recognized in the weighted funding model.
Journal Citation Reports ISI. Impact factor
E-journals ranking. Read guidance about Citation reporting and H-index
Scopus Journal Analyzer
"The Scopus Journal Analyzer provides a quick, easy and transparent view of journal performance, now enriched with two journal metrics - SJR and SNIP also available at www.journalmetrics.com."
Scopus
With "Scopus Journal Analyzer" you can compare total number of citation for one ore more journals, number of articles that have been published from 1996.
SHERPA RoMEO
"Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving"
Newspapers and magazines available in the library or online
Electronic
The University Library offers a variety of local, regional and national newspapers (stored up to one month). In addition, we have several Norwegian and international magazines.
Dictaphones
UiA has a limited number of Dictaphones that can be used in scientific projects. Students have priority over them, but employees may also borrow them. However, we encourage employees to buy their own.
- Borrow directly from the library counter
- Together with the Dictaphone, you will receive a memory card, a manual, and a copy of the guidelines that you have signed
- The loan period is fourteen days, if there is no other reservation. The maximum loan period is twelve weeks. You will be notified when the Dictaphone is to be returned. You will also find the due date by signing in to Oria.
- You can borrow the Dictaphone again if no one else has reserved it
- Please note that there might be demand for the Dictaphones at certain times
- The memory card and manual must be returned together with the dictaphone
- Agder University Library will cut the card in two
- If the Dictaphone or the memory card is lost, you must immediately contact UIA
- If the Dictaphone is damaged, lost, or stolen, there will be a penalty to the value of 1000 NOK
SurveyXact
Students and staff at UiA can use SurveyXact to create questionnaire-based surveys.
User support
-
With SurveyXact you can:
- Design questionnaires
- Distribute questionnaires
- Monitor data collection
- Run analyses
-
SurveyXact can also be used for:
- Customer satisfaction surveys
- Image and knowledge surveys
- Employee surveys
- Workplace assessments (APV)
- User and member surveys
- Population surveys
- Teaching evaluations
- Course evaluations
- Panel surveys
- Attitude surveys
- Website surveys
- Registration and registration tasks
User support
- Video guides
- Support My SurveyXact
- Video guides from Rambøll
- User Manual
- Support My SurveyXact
- Sharing surveys, See more information (Norwegian)
- UiA's routines for processing personal data in research and student assignments
- SurveyXact and SPSS
The user manual iand contact infomartion is also available when logged into SurveyXact. Go to the bottom of the screen where the phone for SX is located
Data protection
There is a data processing agreement between the University of Agder and Ramboll Management/SurveyXact in accordance with the Personal Data Act and the Personal Data Regulations.
Are you wondering if you need to report your project to the Norwegian Center for Research Data (NSD)?
Surveyxact does not store IP addresses from respondents. You do not have to notify the project if you have a) activated an anonymous survey and b) not stored or collected personal information.
The person responsible for the survey must decide whether it should be reported to NSD. Read more about your duty to report your project to NSD.
Surveyxact does not store IP addresses from respondents. You do not have to notify the project if you have a) activated an anonymous survey and b) not stored or collected personal information.
The person responsible for the survey must decide whether it should be reported to NSD. Read more about your duty to report your project to NSD.
The ‘Norwegian Data Protection Authority’ lists 10 categories of information that are considered sensitive personal data, and which are in principle prohibited from processing.
The 10 categories are:
1. Information on racial or ethnic origin
2. Information on political opinion
3. Information about religion
4. Information on philosophical beliefs
5. Information about union membership
6. Genetic information
7. Biometric information (when the purpose of treatment is to uniquely identify someone)
8. Health information
9. Information about sexual relationships
10. Information about sexual orientation
Nevertheless, it is possible to collect this type of information, "if the processing is necessary for archival purposes in the public interest, for purposes related to scientific or historical research or for statistical purposes. This applies if society's interest in the treatment taking place clearly exceeds the disadvantages for the individual. There must also be certain measures and you must have consulted with the privacy ombudsman."
It is possible to use SurveyXact for this purpose, but a two-factor login (confirmation via SMS) is required to protect the data. This can be activated for your account but must be done manually. Before you start with the survey, it is necessary that you contact the university librarian, Erik Adalberon (erik.adalberon@uia.no tel. +47 38 14 19 77) to adapt the system to two-factor login.
There is more information about the collection and processing of sensitive data on the Data Inspectorate's website
The 10 categories are:
1. Information on racial or ethnic origin
2. Information on political opinion
3. Information about religion
4. Information on philosophical beliefs
5. Information about union membership
6. Genetic information
7. Biometric information (when the purpose of treatment is to uniquely identify someone)
8. Health information
9. Information about sexual relationships
10. Information about sexual orientation
Nevertheless, it is possible to collect this type of information, "if the processing is necessary for archival purposes in the public interest, for purposes related to scientific or historical research or for statistical purposes. This applies if society's interest in the treatment taking place clearly exceeds the disadvantages for the individual. There must also be certain measures and you must have consulted with the privacy ombudsman."
It is possible to use SurveyXact for this purpose, but a two-factor login (confirmation via SMS) is required to protect the data. This can be activated for your account but must be done manually. Before you start with the survey, it is necessary that you contact the university librarian, Erik Adalberon (erik.adalberon@uia.no tel. +47 38 14 19 77) to adapt the system to two-factor login.
There is more information about the collection and processing of sensitive data on the Data Inspectorate's website
