Skip to Main Content Red Color Bar with Grey Menu
Logo

Systematic literature studies, Health & Sport

Library subject page. The University Library, Agder University

Grey literature - databases

Grå litteratur er litteratur som ikke er publisert i formelle-kommersielle kanaler, slik som bøker og tidsskriftartikler og blir derfor ikke indeksert i aktuelle referansedatabaser for faget. Søk etter grå litteratur via søkemotorer som Google/Google scholar, aktuelle organisasjoners nettsteder og bibliotekkataloger og databaser over avhandlinger. 

Se Databaser A-Å - type Grå litteratur for flere valg

Method

 

Tools (examples)

Use to find …

Theses repositories

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

discoverable on Web of Science. Go to WoS, choose database.

NOTE: Only a preview of the full text is available. Search Google Scholar for full-text or order full text from ProQuest, some are included from the available database UiA have access to from ProQuest below:

The following database from ProQuest available for UiA:

Health Management Database (Proquest) - including Disseratation. Llimit the search to Disseratation

Nursing & Allied Health Database (Proquest) - including dissearation. Limit search to Disseratation

Public Health Database (Proquest) - including reports and dissertations. limit search to Disseratation 

Search only disseration

... AND at.exact("Dissertation/Thesis")

OR

.. AND RTYPE("Dissertation/Thesis")

 

The reference databases APA PsycInfo (Ovid) and CINAHL (EBSCOhost) include dissertations.

 

Other sources:

Open Access Thesis and dissertation oatd.org

OBASE (limit doc type dissertation)

DARTEurope

EThOS (UK)

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)  http://search.ndltd.org/ 

OAIster

EBSCO Open Dissertation

​Google scholar will also include thesis from open repositories.

Dissertations

and theses

Clinical trial register

 

ClinicalTrials.gov

Included in CENTRAL-Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (via Cochrane library, or Ovid)

Unpublished research data,

in-process studies

Grey literature repositories

 

BASE

 

Notice:
OpenGrey (1980-2020) : "as of December 1, 2020 the OpenGrey Repository will be discontinued and preserved as a closed archive in the DANS EASY". More Information, 

 

Dissertation, reports, open access articles (from OA journals not indexed in bibliographic databases

(Library catalogues)

 

Library catalogs- examples

WHOLIS, See about:

Reports
Preprints   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preprint  

Targeted or general

web searching

 

Search engines
Google, Google scholar (GS)

(GS can be search from Publish or Perish program for exporting result to EndNote)

Target websites: any known?

All grey literature types,

but will include a lot of published articles that already search for in databases. Same for dissertation.

A search could be target for only reports (pdf filetype, or site:org og .gov – or specific websites to browse

Reference list scanning

 

scan references of all articles selected for inclusion

If searching the article in Scopus database, you could export the reference list to Endnote, also any cited articles, or related articles. Scopus databse is available from UiA,. Scopus is an interdisciplinary database

Tools

Paperfetcher: A tool to automate handsearching and citation searching for systematic reviews  https://doi.org/10.1002/jrsm.1604

citationchaser https://doi.org/10.1002/jrsm.1563

Databases: Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar

All grey literature types

Contacting experts

 

email (contact key authors)

All grey literature types

Conference proceedings

Conference Abstract
Conference Paper
Conference Review

 

*EMBASE 

Publication types:

Conference Abstract
Conference Paper
Conference Review

Ovid syntax, .pt = publication type. Phrase and Word Indexed

Conference Abstract.pt

conference*.pt

 

More information

Levay, P. (2022). Systematic searching in Ovid Embase: understanding the MEDLINE document collection and identifying conference records. medRxiv. https://doi.org/10.1101/2022.04.23.22274201

Web of Science:

WoS - Konferansepublikasjoner, avgrens søk til:
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Scopus:

Avgrens søk til Conference paper

 

 

  

Google søkehjelp /Google scholar search help

Tips til søk på Google

  • Begrense søk til område, velg site: - eksempel site:no (norge) - pressure ulcer site:nice.org.uk (sider på nice.org.uk) - site:gov, site:org
  • Filtype - se oversikt fra Google - eksempel filetype:pdf  - eksempel pressure ulcer site:nice.org.uk filetype:pdf
  • Google avansert søk,

 

Google Scholar - begrensninger og muligheter

  • Søk i fulltekst, alternativt smalere på tittel for færre irrelevante treff

  • GS kan ikke lagre søkehistorikken og bruke tidliger søk i nye søk

  • Kan ikke se mer enn de første 1000 treffene

  • Søkestrengene kan ikke være lengre en 256 tegn

  • Kan ikke bruke trunkering

  • AND er standard - dvs to ord søkes som AND mellom søkeordene

  • OR er mulig  - merk at OR  kan erstattes med |  - for å kunne bruke flere tegn i søkestrengen.

  • Frasesøk - bruk anførselstegn rundt ordene som skal stå ved siden av hverandre "pressure ulcer"  - skal synonyme dekkes, kan dettte skrives inn slik - for treff på "pressure ulcer(s), eller pressure sore(s)  "pressure ulcer|ulcers|sore|sores" - dersom begrepet eldre skal være med -  "pressure ulcer|ulcers|sore|sores" elderly|aged|old|older

  • Nærhet- proximity: AROUND(n) - eksempel: nursing|nurse|nurses| AROUND(3) experience|attitude|experiences|attitudes|perception|perceptions|perspective|perspectives

  • Eksport av treff EndNote:

    • Kun eksport av en og en referanse til EndNote desktop,

    • Alternativt kan alle på en side (inntil 20) eksporteres til EndNote online. Logg på EndNote online- om du har satt opp synk mot ditt desktop bibliotek, vil du finne treff også i ditt EndNote bibliotek på maskinen.

    • Alternativt: Lagre treff - Se knappen for å lagre (logg på)- opprett en liste, deretter kan treff fra listen eksporteres samlet

    • Søk via Publish or Perish programmet  og eksportere treff til enten  EXCEL eller EndNote

  • Tittelsøk eksempel intitle:

  • Forfatternavn. Søk på forfatternavn i frase - fullt navn /initial - "l fegran"  - eller "liv fegran" - for begge varianter bruk OR (eller | mellom frasene). Da du søker i fulltekst får du også treff der personen ikke er forfatter - men er nevnt i henvisninger i tekst eller litteraturliste (referanseliste)

  • Eksmpel på komplekse søk

 

 

Flere søketips på Googles sider og

https://ahrefs.com/blog/google-advanced-search-operators/

https://pitt.libguides.com/googlescholar/searchtips 

https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html#searching

http://musingsaboutlibrarianship.blogspot.com/2021/09/threeone-bonus-google-scholar.html

Universitetsbiblioteket er primært en informasjonsressurs for studenter og ansatte ved Universitetet i Agder. Biblioteket yter også tjenester til enkeltpersoner, nærings-, utdannings- og kulturlivet.