Skip to Main Content Red Color Bar with Grey Menu
Logo

Systematic literature studies, Health & Sport

Library subject page. The University Library, Agder University

Export to EndNote: Create groups - remove duplicates - export unique references- back-up the library - share the library

1. Create a new library for the systematic search, and create groups for the databases inside the library

  1. Open EndNote program
  2. Choose from the commands on the top: File - New (Or Chose "Create a new library" from the welcome page)
  3. Rename the library
  4. Choose a folder: DO not save the library in a folder that syncs to OneDrive, iCloud or similar. If all your document folders sync, you can save the library in the Application folder (MAC)/This PC > OSDisk (C:) (Windows): First, create a folder, name it EndNoteLibrary (not only EndNote), and save the library in this folder

2. Set up your EndNote library with Groups:

  1. Remember to store the library in a folder that do not sync to OneDrive, iCloud, Dropbox or similar (and do regular backup!). Norwegian demo
  2. In EndNote 20, Choose the My group folder to create groups for the databases you use,  also create a Duplicate group. Use right click to create groups, or the Group command
  3. Create a group based on the other group, call it Unique, and include all the database group combined with OR, but NOT the duplicate group. It is from this group you do the duplicate check, All the real duplicates is added to the Duplicate group

3. How to export from different search interface (vendors/host), Choose to export in RIS fil format: 

Note: You will find all the RIS files exported from the database in your download folder. You can edit the name  (not the file type) with the database name, date, and number of hits.

After exporting references from the search to your library - remove the duplicates

Remove duplicates

Create groups if this is missing: 

  1. Total group, based on all the database group, create from
  2. Duplicate Group,
  3.  Unique group (The unique group is Group based on all the database group (or between them)  but NOT the duplicate group)

Display fields for the references:

Choose Display fields: Edit Preferences - Display fields- Choose to include, Author, Year; title, Secondary title, Volume, Number and pages, DOI and Abstract

Duplicate preferences, and start the duplicate removal process:

  1. Choose duplicate preferences (Edit Preference Duplicates).  Follow the "Bramer method" a stepwise process, simplified on the KIB's Blog (Notice that you also can compare DOI numbers. More information on DOI field (Norwegian))
  2. Choose the Unique group for the duplicate check. Run duplicate check based on preferences for duplicates, see 2 above:
    • In Endnote X9 og X8: Reference - Find duplicates. In EndNote 20: Library - Find duplicates
    • then Click cancel- since you do not want to manually check references side by side
    • Note: The marked references in the temporary duplicate group (not the group you created) are the references that EndNote find duplicate, you can deselect if the reference is not a real duplicate, make sure to hold the ctrl/cmd when select or deselct references
    • Right click and add reference to the duplicate group

After the de-duplication process, export the unique references if needed and create a compressed library (back-up)

Export unique references from EndNote for upload to a screening tool

  1. Mark references from your EndNote library, ctrl-a/cmd-a mark all the references in a group
  2. Command File - Export
  3. Select folder for storing the export file
  4. Select name for the file
  5. Select filetype: txt
  6. Select output style: RIS - if you cannot find the style, Select another style, search for RIS and select

Notice

You do not have to export references from EndNote:The RIS files from the database search is also possible to direct import into Rayyan. If you do not need to remove duplicates before screening in Rayyan, then import the RIS files directly. When exporting references from databases, choose RIS format. You will find the files in the download folder.

After the deduplication process, create a compressed library (back-up)

create a compressed library for back-up! Store this file (compressed archived EndNote library file) in OneDrive or similar. Norwegian information and demo

Export unique hits to Rayyan More information - or if Screening for inclusion through EndNote, make a new Group set, and Groups for the screening process. It is also possible to export reference from EndNote to Excel

You can share a library with other users: send the archived backup library with e-mail, or if the file is to big, use FileSender Go to FileSender

This video demonstrate how to use EndNote in connection with a systematic literature study. Content

 Create a new library; 

Preference for the library, When EndNote start 

Open an existing library, 

Create groups; 4:45

Import a Journal list before exporting/importing references to the library; 8:17

Import the RIS export files from database searches, drag the references to different groups; 10:27

Preference for displaying fields: 14:12

Remove duplicates; 16:04

Export the unique references from the EndNote library for screening the reference in another tool; 

EndNote file structure;

Back-up your library;  (Compressed library/Archived library)

Open an archived library; 

Share an archived library (E-mail or through Filesender.sikt.no); 

Opprette Grupper og  Fjerne dubletter

i Filmen demonstreres dette via bruk av EndNote MAC versjon X9, men fungerer i prinsippet likt for EndNote 20/eller X9 for  MAC og Windows

 Filmen følger stegene for duplett sjekk anbefalt av Bramer et al, oppsummert i en forenklet versjon på KIBs nettside

Opprett grupper for kilder fra hver base

Opprett gruppe for dubletter

Opprett gruppe for de unike

Velge preferanser for dublett sjekk, en stegvis prosess, se ovenfor

Eksport de unike treffene fra EndNote. Disse kan så lastes opp i Rayyan for blindet screening (eller tilsvarende verktøy.

Merk alle de unike referansene. Ctrl eller CMD + a

File - Eksport

Angi filnavn

Velg output style, RIS formatet. Om du ikke finner dette valget, velg Select another style, søk etter RIS

Lagre på et sted på din maskin du finner filen igjen

Filmen under gjennomgår stegene

Sørg for å ta back-up av ditt EndNote bibliotek

Filen lagrer du i OneDrive eller tilsvarende

Filmen under gjennomgår dette

Rayyan screening tool

Universitetsbiblioteket er primært en informasjonsressurs for studenter og ansatte ved Universitetet i Agder. Biblioteket yter også tjenester til enkeltpersoner, nærings-, utdannings- og kulturlivet.