Step 2 Where - Choose database(s) - Systematic literature studies, Health & Sport - Library subject guides. Fakulteter at University of Agder

2. Were - Databases - database hosts

Notice the different between platform (or vendor, also called a database provider), and a database. A platform or a vendor offer one or more databases, and special search functionalities (interface) for searching these databases.

MEDLINE from different vendors/hosts (platforms)

PubMed Coverage: "PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC, and 3) NCBI Bookshelf" Readad more about the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE - segments Medall includes all content from PubMed
EBSCOhost MEDLINE includes all content from PubMed

As from January 2010, MEDLINE records are included in Embase on all vendor platforms (DataStar, Dialog, DIMDI, EBSCO, Ovid, ProQuest, STN) as well as on the Elsevier platform. Read more: Embase Whitepaper 2011. Scopus includes records from both MEDLINE & EMBASE

Reference (Bibliographic) Databases:

Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane library includes the following databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic reviews (CDSR), includes all Cochrane reviews (and associated protocols) prepared and published by Cochrane Review Groups. These reviews are also covered in MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL and other databases. Possible to search from the full-text in Cochrane library
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a source of reports randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials ( Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase.com), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform). Read more https://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-cochrane-library. Cochrane library is also included in Ovid search interface
EBSCOhost (Advanced search. Search mode: Boolean) This link opens in a new window
Choose one or more database(s); Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, MEDLINE, SocINDEX, SportDISCUS, Social Work Abstract, ERIC, Business Source Complete ...
Ovid (MEDLINE, APA PsycInfo, EMBASE, Cochrane) This link opens in a new window
Advanced search through Ovid interface, choose from the following database(s); AMED (alternative medicine), EMBASE (medicin, health), MEDLINE (medicine, health), APA PsycInfo (Psychological, behavior science, psychiatry)
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE database in PubMed interface. PubMed includes some more content , but MEDLINE in Ovid and EBSCOhost interfaces includes all PubMed
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database, covers content from both MEDLINE & EMBASE and much more ...
Web of science This link opens in a new window
WoS is a platform for several database, the WoS Core Collection (includes Science Citation index, Social Sciences Citation index, Arts & Humanities citation index). WoS also includes MEDLINE and some other databases. Choose before you start searching

Databases A-Z

Other sources

Grey literature
Reference lists of your included article (Scopus covers also reference list of the article)
Cited articles (articles that cites your included studies): Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar, PubMed, Ovid database. Document your source(s) for the cited articles search.
Hand-searching (browsing) journals
Experts

Also see below databases: AI - Cited by - Bibliometric databases

Connected Papers This link opens in a new window
UiA not licenced access
elicit.org This link opens in a new window
UiA not licenced access
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Søkemotor.Søkemotor for vitenskapelig informasjon. Gir bl.a. treff på artikler utgitt av akademiske forlag, avhandlinger fra høyere utdanning, bøker, sammendrag og tekniske rapporter fra et vidstrakt forskningsområde.
Keenious This link opens in a new window
UiA not licenced access
Research Rabbit This link opens in a new window
UiA not licenced access
Scite This link opens in a new window UiA not licenced access
Scopus This link opens in a new window Referansedatabase - tidsskriftartikler. Tverrfaglig dekning, dekker blant annet Embase&Medline og Engineering Village. Dekker også mange av tidsskriftene som indekseres i Cinahl, SportDiscus, Psycinfo, Web of science. (Kilde Ulrichsweb). Via Scopus finner du også analyseverktøy for bibliometriske analyser
Semantic scholar This link opens in a new window
UiA not licenced access
Web of science This link opens in a new window Indekserer et utvalg av de viktigste vitenskapelige tidsskrifter i alle fag. Kjernedatabasene er Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Medline er også søkbar via Web of Science. Best på realfag og medisin men dekker også samfunnsfag og humaniora. Unike muligheter for søk basert sitering